>Sharing the {Pumpkin} Love

>

When I’m not blogging, my time is spent studying, fellowshipping with my favorite girls, or catching up on life goals.

And whatever time is left, I spend doing art in the kitchen.

I love baking and cooking. It clears my brain of all its unnavigable clutter to flip through my recipe box, whip out bowls and measuring spoons, and let my creative energies run free. Without much thought but with lots of care, a cake, a soup, a bread comes together and I can say: I made that. And I walk away from the kitchen with a happy feeling of accomplishment that invigorates me to forge through other, less enjoyable tasks.

Creating in the kitchen calms me and I think that’s why I love it. It is one of the few activities I do for the mere pleasure of doing.

Of course there has to be a spiritual application. Isn’t there one in every life situation, if we only have eyes to seem it? When I read God’s Word, I find the recipe for peace — lasting peace that doesn’t fade away with the aroma of muffins in the oven. It is the only cookbook that contains the secret true joy that is lighter than the flakiest biscuit and yet as nourishing as the heartiest stew. “Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of God?” (Matthew 4:4)

When you are feeling overwhelmed, what do you do? Where do you go for refreshment, for rejeuvenation, for stability? How are you satisfied? I hope when I have a moment to spare in the middle of a hectic, energy-depleting day, I first go to the presence of the Savior, being revived in His Word and in prayer, before seeking relaxation elsewhere. Because only “He satisifies the longing soul, and the hungry soul he fills with good things” (Ps 107:9).

And if there is still time left after that time of spiritual renwal, you will find me in the kitchen, probably whipping up one of these concoctions.

Pumpkin Spice Latte for One
(adapted from here)
  • 1 c. strongly brewed coffee
  • 3/4 c. milk (I used almond milk, but you may use any of your choice)
  • 2 T. canned pumpkin
  • 1/2 t. cinnamon
  • 1/4 t. nutmeg
  • dash of clove
  • maple syrup
Combine milk, pumpkin, spices, and maple syrup in a small saucepan and bring to a boil. Transfer mixture to a blender and process till foamy. Pour into a large coffee cup and then pour in brewed coffee. Breathe in the fragrant aroma and then sip away a cold morning.

Black Bean and Pumpkin Chili
  • 1 T. canola oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 medium bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 small zucchini, chopped
  • 3 minced garlic cloves
  • 2 cans (14 1/2 oz) diced tomatoes
  • 1 can (15 oz.) black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can (15 oz) garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can (15 oz) kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can (15 oz) solid-pack pumpkin
  • 2 t. chili powder
  • 1 1/2 t. ground cumin
  • 1 t. dried oregano
  • 1 – 3 c. vegetable or chicken broth
  • salt and pepper to taste
In a large pot, saute vegetables in oil until they are tender. Add garlic and cook for 1 more minute. Stir in tomatoes, beans, pumpkin, and spices. Add just enough broth to reach a good consistency. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover, and simmer until heated through. * For a more traditional chili, add ground turkey to sauteing vegetables*
I hope I find time to do what I love, dusting every kitchen surface with flour and creating tornados in the blender. But if I don’t, I won’t in reality be missing much. The Word of God is what ultimately calms me, refreshes me, and sustains me. Girl doesn’t live by pumpkin alone.
3 thoughts on “>Sharing the {Pumpkin} Love

  1. Pingback: Seeing Orange | Nourishing Bites

Leave a Reply

