Energy Slurp

The past few days have been c.r.a.z.y. You might say I’ve been running around like a chicken with it’s head cut off, but really? All the chickens keep their heads around here.

With VBS this past week, it’s felt like a week of Sunday mornings. Every morning, the alarm went off while the sun’s just waking, I grumbled and groaned, and stumbled my way downstairs.  And then here was that Wednesday morning when Elizabeth and I squeezed in a nine-mile run before VBS. Yeah, I don’t even like to think about that wake-up call.

I don’t mind getting up at early, but getting up and out of the house at an early hour is a whole other story. Rushed morning take all the pleasure out of the daybreak hours.

My favorite kind of morning is when I tiptoe downstairs just as the sun is rising. I make myself a cup of green tea and nestle into the couch to spend some time reading God’s Word and journaling verses and prayers. Then I patter my way to the kitchen to make breakfast. It’s my favorite meal of the day that I plan as I’m drifting off to sleep and wake up eager to eat. The best mornings usually begin with a satisfying and nutritious breakfast, like blueberry oatmeal, banana pancakes or cereal-yogurt-fruit parfaits.

My Bible reading suffered this past week. For the five minutes I sat down, my fingers were busy braiding my hair and my eyes were darting to the clock. And I’d shut my Bible scarcely remembering what I had just read, feeling like I zoomed up to a gas tank and pulled away still running on empty. “I have stored up your word in my heart, that I might not sin against you” (Psalm 119:11).

Breakfast also suffered this past week. Some mornings I was lucky to snatch a bowl of cereal or English muffin for the car. I don’t even remember what  I ate on Wednesday morning before our run. All I know is the kitchen was dark, my fingers smelled like peanut butter and I found a mysterious chocolate stain on my shirt around mile three. And I’m not thinking about it.

But if my mornings are going to be early and rushed, if I am going to spend half my day in a class of fifteen energetic, streamer flinging, ball bouncing, water splashing children, I’m going to need spiritual strength, renewed by a daily dose of God’s Word. “Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days” (Psalm 90:14).I’m also going to need energy. Preferably in the form of caffeine. And if that energy and breakfast could come together in one bowl in five minutes, then I say, why not? I’ll slurp while you drive.

Strawberry Mocha Energizing Smoothie

Ingredients:

  • 1 c. almond milk (or any milk)
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1 c. frozen strawberries
  • 1 T. instant coffee
  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 2-4 ice cubes (add as needed)
  • 1 t. cinnamon

Instructions: Blend all ingredients in a high-speed blender. Add ice cubes to thicken. I ate this in a bowl topped with puffed kamut and cinnamon and “iced” with a drizzle of maple syrup.

So now it’s Saturday night. The crazy week has come to a close and I feel like my head has been restored. But wait, tomorrow is Sunday morning. I think I’ll plan ahead by setting out my Bible and blender on the kitchen table. Strawberry-pink stains swirls on a brown dress totally goes, right?

4 thoughts on “Energy Slurp

    • Thanks for the link, Mrs Hasse! I’m so glad technology can be used to make the Word more accessible. There’s no reason busyness is an excuse for not taking in Scripture!

      • Faith Comes By Hearing also has some great, fully dramatized audio Bibles. It’s an unabridged reading of the Bible, but they use dozens of different actors to provide the voices of different people. You can download free podcasts of any Bible chapter on iTunes, or you can check out their web site here (http://www.faithcomesbyhearing.com/youve-got-time). I downloaded the book of Ephesians to listen to while I’m exercising–hearing it read to me over and over is reinforcing it in my mind. :)
        The Energy Slurp looks delicious, btw!

  1. Pingback: “Breakfast” Anytime: Herb and Cheese Souffle | Nourishing Bites

Leave a Reply

