Celebration Calls for Baking

I feel like celebrating.

I’m not exactly sure why.

It may be because yesterday marked the end of my summer Statistics course. I hit the final “submit” button at 11:13 pm while sitting on my bed in my pajamas. Still awaiting the score on that one…It can wait until I’ve fully enjoyed this sense of accomplishment.

It may be because I just spent the last week at an exhilarating, inspiring conference for girls. Making new friends, getting closer to old ones and being strengthened in my faith had me walking around with a smile all week. It also had me taking a Statistics class at 11:13 pm, but the joy far outweighed the consequences.

Or it may be because in a few short days, I’ll be heading out to Philadelphia for another conference, to learn about nutrition and healthy living, and to stalk a few of my blogger heroines. And staying up till 11:13 pm, on my bed in my pajamas, with my head not bent over a calculator, but immersed in a swag bag of goodies. I’ll take it.

But really, when I think of my blessed life, I see there is much to celebrate. Family and friends who are dear to me, the comfort of home, health and strength to enjoy long runs in the August sunshine, clothes to wear, a bed to sleep in…and study in.

Mostly I rejoice that I know the Source of my blessed life. Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change (James 1:17). Each day I know that “the steadfast love of the LORD never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning” (Lamentations 3:23,24). Great is His faithfulness.

It’s worth celebrating. Is it weird that I always associate food with celebrating? Whenever there is a birthday, anniversary, graduation, soccer win, passed exam, or just a really good day, my first thought is what recipe best will best commemorate the occasion.

Is that strange? Because if it is and I’m the only one celebrating with blueberry shortbread with coconut streusel, I don’t want to be normal.

Blueberry Streusel Shortbread Bars

Shortbread Ingredients:

  • ¾ c. sugar
  • ½ c. margarine
  • ½ t. vanilla extract
  • ¾ c. whole wheat flour
  • ½ c. all-purpose flour
  • ½ t. salt
  • ½ t. baking soda
  • 1 t. baking powder
  • 2 T. milk
  • 1 c. fresh or frozen blueberries
  • ¼ c. chopped  pecans
  • ¼ c. unsweetened coconut

Streusel Topping Ingredients:

  • ¼ c. whole wheat flour
  • 1/3 c. unsweetened coconut
  • ¼ c. rolled oats
  • ¼ c. brown sugar
  • ¼ c. chopped pecans
  • ¼ c. margarine, melted

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees and lightly pray a 8×8 pan with cooking spray. In a large bowl, cream together sugar, margarine and vanilla.
  • In a separate bowl, combine flours, salt, baking soda and baking powder. Add dry ingredients gradually into wet mixture until fully combined. Stir in milk. Gently fold in berries, pecans, and coconut. Press mixture into prepared pan.
  • Topping: Combine flour, coconut, oats, brown sugar, and pecans in a medium bowl. Drizzle with melted butter and stir to coat. Sprinkle topping over bars and gently press into batter.
  • Bake 18-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Allow to cool slightly before cutting and serving.

Have you thought of a reason to celebrate yet? These bars are calling your name.

3 thoughts on “Celebration Calls for Baking

  1. Hmmm… just looking at this recipe is making me want to celebrate something. Uh, it’s Tuesday! I could celebrate Tuesday! After all, we only get one Tuesday per week. It’s worth celebrating.

  2. Yummy! Looks great Becky! Finishing something is ALWAYS a good reason to celebrate!
    Hmmmm….. I don’t know anyone else that EVER stayed up that late finishing her school work ;)

Leave a Reply

