>Orange Colored Dreams

> I know autumn is here when I start counting pumpkins instead of sheep at night. In my opinon, a fall without pumpkins is like a summer without watermelon. Or a wedding without the groom. Seriously, it is that important. Stout, orange, and oh so handsome. Totally swoon-worthy.

I am always dreaming up new ways to keep us close. Not just the cute fellas lining our front porch (and walkway, and driveway), but I’m really talking about their cousins of the Libby’s 100% pure-bliss-packed-in-a-can variety. Around the end of August, pumpkin makes an appearance at almost every meal — pumpkin spice latte with pumpkin oatmeal for breakfast, pumpkin yogurt or quesadillas for lunch, and pumpkin chili for dinner.

Yes, dear friends I’m obsessed. Just ask my sisters who watch in incredulity as I fill shopping baskets and kitchen cupboards with an ingredient they thought was reserved for pie. But don’t worry. The fascination usually fades with the season…to be replaced by a new love.

I only wish I could keep my thoughts occupied with anything so harmless. Unfortunately, my mind doesn’t stop at pumpkin, but is always running headlong to places it shouldn’t. Then fears, doubts, jealousies, and preoccupations with the good opinion of others consume me and expose me to all kinds of temptation.

And I struggle and beat my fists in the air and resolve that I will never allow my thoughts to spin out of control again. But just a few moments later, I find myself once again entangled in unkind judgements, covetous schemes, and self-gratifying contemplations. Wearied and frustrated, I eventually decide it an endless fruitless cycle that I can’t do anything about.

But then I open my Bible. “The word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart” (Hebrews 4:12).

It’s dangerous to think that what goes on in our mind is harmless. God’s desire if the meditations of our hearts to honor Him and bring Him glory. Any thought that does not put Him first does not bring Him pleasure. Our minds are the battlegrounds where sin is either triumphant or vanquished by the truth of God’s Word. It is true that my thoughts are flawed and “prone to wander”, but God’s Word lasts forever and is not bound. In season and out of season, it never returns void

“Every word of God is pure; He is a shield to those who put their trust in Him” (Proverbs 30:5). My spiritual life can only withstand temptation if my mind has been placed on the altar and immersed in the life-giving, purifying words of God. The Lord who searches all hearts and understands every plan and thought” (1 Chronicles 28:9) speaks specifically to my needs: my weakness, inadequacy, doubts.

It discerns the true state of my heart, enables me to “take every thought captive to obey Christ” (2 Corinthians 10:5) and replaces wrong thoughts with a new preoccupation — the preeminence and glory of Christ.

My mind, Lord, is yours. Work Your cleansing power and change it by Your grace into a sanctuary — a place of worship where the offerings of my thoughts bring a sweet savour before You. “Search me, O God, and know my heart! Try me and know my thoughts! And see if there be any grievous way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting!” (Psalm 139:23-24)

I’ll be back to talk about ways God’s Word speaks to our thought life. But not before I share some of the pumpkin recipes that are crowding my brain.

You didn’t think you were going to miss out on that, did you?

2 thoughts on “>Orange Colored Dreams

  1. >Thank you for sharing, dear Becky. I am so blessed to have a sister who sincerely desires to be "preoccupied" with Christ, and then really lives it out in daily life! You inspire me. Oh, and the pumpkin chili was actually really yummy!

  2. >Thank you for your encouragement once again, Becky. You give me courage to go deep with God, to read His words to me and saturate my mind with His thinking and His heart. I am grateful for your daily love and encouragement.Love,MOM

Leave a Reply

